What's New in the Library

Happy New Year! I hope 2019 has been off to a great start for everyone. January is when most of our journal subscriptions start and each year we usually add new titles, in hopes of making our collection better and more relevant. This year is no different. Starting in 2019, we have access to the following titles:

• Annals of Internal Medicine
• The Australian & New Zealand Journal of Obstetrics & Gynaecology
• JAMA Internal Medicine
• JAMA Pediatrics

If you would like to suggest a journal to be added to our collection, you can use our Suggest a Journal form. It's always available on the Books & Journals page of the library website.

In addition to these new journals, we have some new resources that were added in 2018 that you might not know about:

• Trip Database - this database is designed to help users find quality evidence-based information quickly. Our subscription includes the Pro version which provides extra content and functionality. 
• Sanford Guide - this resource is a well-known reference for anti-infectives. It also has a mobile app - see the download instructions on our Mobile Resources Guide.

Once again, Happy 2019! We look forward to working with you in the coming year! 

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) Database

In celebration of National Medical Librarians Month, we'd like to highlight some resources that you may not be familiar with.  The first resource we will feature is the Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) database.  This database provides information from journals about behavioral measurement instruments.  Please note that it does NOT provide the full-text of the instruments. Rather, it points the user to journal articles that either contain or discuss the instrument.  Limit your search to "primary source" for a better chance of the instrument being included in the article.

While the database record is pointing you to a journal article, it doesn't provide the full-text of the article either.  When you request an item via interlibrary loan from this database, you are requesting the journal article, not the instrument itself.  Some instruments are available directly from the database publisher, but a fee is charged.  If you are interested in obtaining an instrument this way, please contact us directly.

Other information that may be included in the instrument record is reliability, response options, references (to the primary source if it's a secondary source, for example), number of questions, and an abstract. Below is a sample record:

If you have questions about using HaPI, or any other database, be sure and contact the library.